New residents must register their vehicles within thirty days of establishing
residency in Georgia. A Georgia
Driver's License must be obtained before registering your vehicle.
Out-of-state titles must be surrendered and transferred to Georgia titles (year
models 1985 and older are not
required to be titled in Georgia). If there is a lien on the vehicle and you do not
have the title, we must have
the current registration, name and address of the lien holder along with the account
leased vehicles require a power of attorney from the leasing company.
Georgia liability insurance is required to be transmitted to the state's data base
by your insurance company in
order to register your vehicle. The vehicle must be covered by liability insurance
at all times or a lapse in
coverage penalty will apply. If you cancel the insurance, you must also cancel the
New residents to Georgia will be subject to TAVT when they apply for their new title.
New residents are required to pay:
$18 title fee
$20 tag fee
Only one-time 3% TAVT of FMV on each vehicle when transferring from another state.
New residents must title/register within 30 days or will receive late penalties.